Michael Schenker Fest Live (Tokyo) CD / DVD Review 6th February 2017

Images courtesty of Noble PR


Michael Schenker Fest Live from Tokyo is a recording of an event that many Michael Schenker and MSG group fans thought would never happen.  Even Michael Schenker himself is playing a show that is for him “a miracle”.  Filmed and recorded at Tokyo’s International Forum on August 24 2016, this historic concert features guest appearances from some of the greatest rock vocalists who have worked with Schenker over the years including M.S.G.’S Gary Barden, Graham Bonnet, and Robin McAuley of the McAuley Schenker Group.

This show is a multi-format release, and the one I am reviewing is a very nice package of 2 audio CDs, DVD and booklet all housed in a presentation box.  As usual with any Michael Schenker/Inakustik release, the production quality on everything is high, but the purchase price is not.  Michael Schenker knows how to treat his army of loyal fans throughout the world, and the 18 tracks (audio and DVD here) will probably be enough to keep any Michael Schenker/MSG /UFO fan happy for the rest of the year.

With a recording career stretching back to the 1970s and a well deserved status of one of rock’s most iconic guitarists, this re-union after many years with old friends and musical collaborators was always going to be something special, and part of the joy of this release is watching the pleasure Michael and the band are having being back together on stage…that line up consists of

Michael Schenker – Lead Guitar
Ted McKenna – Drums
Steve Mann – Guitar, Keyboards
Chris Glen – Bass

Gary Barden
Graham Bonnet
Robin McAuley

With songs like “Into The Arena”, “Coast To Coast”, “Assault Attack”, “Rock Bottom” and “Doctor Doctor”, this album and DVD remind us all of just why Michael Schenker is a “rock legend”, and a master class to any aspiring rock bands out there on how to do the job in front of an arena packed with 5,000 loyal fans .


01. Intro: Searching For Freedom
02. Into The Arena
03. Attack Of The Mad Axeman ft. Gary Barden
04. Victim Of Illusion ft. Gary Barden
05. Cry For The Nations ft. Gary Barden
06. Let Sleeping Dogs Lie ft. Gary Barden
07. Armed And Ready ft. Gary Barden
08. Coast To Coast
09. Assault Attack ft. Graham Bonnet
10. Desert Song ft. Graham Bonnet
11. Dancer ft. Graham Bonnet
12. Captain Nemo
13. This Is My Heart ft. Robin McAuley
14. Save Yourself ft. Robin McAuley
15. Love Is Not A Game ft. Robin McAuley
16. Shoot Shoot ft. Robin McAuley
17. Rock Bottom ft. Robin McAuley
18. Doctor Doctor ft. Gary Barden, Graham Bonnet, Robin McAuley


Michael Schenker Fest "Live" Tokyo is available in the following formats:

2 CD
2 CD + DVD Combo
Vinyl LP

Hi-Res download


Michael Schenker, one of music’s greatest rock guitarists, will release Michael Schenker Fest "Live" Tokyo – a stunning new live recording and filmed concert released by inakustik on Friday 24th March 2017.

Cick image to view the official youtube trailer clip

For more information visit http://www.michaelschenkerhimself.com/home.php

Review by Tom King



All reviews are copyright Showtime Edinburgh / the review writer and may not be used or reprinted in whole or in part in any medium whatsoever without the written permission of Showtime Edinburgh or the review writer.

We do however make exception for artists, companies and theatres involved in any review to use reviews (or part of) for their own promotion and publicity