KING KING "LIVE" Album Review Thursday 17th November 2016


King King “Live”,  the band’s first live album recorded at their sold out hometown concert at 02 ABC in Glasgow on 14th May 2016 gives us the reason why the band have firmly established themselves as one of the UK’s favourite Rock Blues Bands.

In 2016, King King scooped five British Blues Awards including Best Male Vocal (Alan Nimmo), Best Bass Player (Lindsay Coulson), Best Song (Rush Hour), Best Album (Reaching for the Light) and Best Songwriter.  October 2016 saw the release of King King’s first live album “King King Live” which hit the No.1 spot in Amazon’s Best Seller’s Blues Chart, and based on those awards the band - Alan Nimmo (vocals/guitar),  Bob Fridzema (keys), Lindsay Coulson (bass),  and Wayne Proctor (drums) -can justifiably make that claim of being “Britain’s No 1 Rock and Blues Band”.

For those of us old enough to remember the first wave of classic “British Rock and Blues Bands”, this 12 track album proves that King King are great modern interpreters of that classic sound.  For those of you not old enough to remember, this is what a great rock and blues band sounds like.

King King “Live”  released on Friday 21st October 2016 is a triple package of 2 live CDs (12 tracks) plus bonus DVD.  Everything of course is also available in digital download format.   For more information visit 

There is something for everyone on this release – classic rock and blues, great soul sounds and some great funk sounds.  Personal favourites are the classic soul sounding “A Long History of Love” and “Jealousy”.  Also on this album, the strong steady beat and touching lyrics of “Waking Up” which was released as a double A sided single of radio remix and live formats on Friday 28th October.

This live package is being released while the band are on tour, and as I write this review, King King are coming soon to The Queen’s Hall in Edinburgh on Friday 25th November.  I’ve not heard King King play live before, but if this album is a taster of what is to come, then it’s going to be a great show.  Anyone who tries to say that they don’t make bands like that, or there are no great voices like that anymore have obviously not listened to King King’s sound  and Alan Nimmo’s vocals


Disc: 1
1. Lose Control
2. Wait On Time
3. Waking Up
4. Rush Hour
5. Long History Of Love
6. More Than I Can Take
Disc: 2
1. You Stopped The Rain
2. Jealousy
3. Crazy
4. All Your Life
5. Stranger To Love
6. Let Love In

Review by Tom King


King King played The Queen's Hall in Edinburgh on Friday 25th November 2016. Here is our link to that show review.



All reviews are copyright Entertainment Edinburgh / Southside Advertiser or the review writer and may not be used or reprinted in whole or in part in any medium whatsoever without the written permission of Entertainment Edinburgh / Southside Advertiser or the review writer.

We do however make exception for artists, companies and theatres involved in any review to use reviews (or part of) for their own promotion and publicity